First United Corporation is a $2.1 billion community bank holding company that lends and takes deposits across four counties in western Maryland and three counties in northeastern West Virginia, and its investment case rests on a margin that has re-expanded after two years of rate-driven compression. Full-year 2025 net income reached 24.5 million. The net interest margin held at 3.67 percent, a level that shows the franchise working. In the first half of 2026, income of 12.3 million was reported. The margin was 3.89 percent, a level the company has not sustained in a while. The story is not a growth story. It is a margin-recovery story layered on top of a franchise that is roughly the size of the median publicly traded regional bank in the one to four billion asset bracket.
The most important recent development is the combination of the leadership change at the top of the house with the core processing system contract negotiation that consumed a 1.7 million net-of-tax consulting fee in the second quarter of 2026. Jason Rush took over as president and chief executive officer on January 1, 2026, with the incoming management team immediately setting its priorities around efficiency and expense control. The core processing contract negotiation is the first major technology decision the new management team has made, and the consulting fee is the price of getting out of a legacy contract that was costing the bank more than the bank wanted to pay. The consequence for shareholders is that a one-time charge has temporarily depressed reported earnings, but the underlying operating run rate is higher than the reported figure suggests. The gap between the reported and non-GAAP results in the second quarter was 1.6 million, and it is entirely attributable to the consulting expense.
The central tension is that the margin recovery is real but the growth engine is modest, and the two are in some conflict. Commercial and industrial loans fell 35 million in the first half of 2026, driven by payoffs from competitors and business sales. Commercial real estate, by contrast, grew 55 million on new relationships. The loan pipeline is described as healthy, with 42 million in unfunded committed construction loans, but the growth rate is in the low single digits in the current rate environment. The risk is that the margin expansion, which is the primary driver of earnings growth, runs into a ceiling when the Federal Reserve stops cutting rates and the funding cost stops falling. The company's own disclosure of higher cash levels at year-end and the use of that cash to repay brokered deposits and Federal Home Loan Bank borrowings in early 2026 is a sign that management is positioning the balance sheet for a higher-rate environment, but the positioning is a one-time benefit that does not repeat.
The catalyst is the execution of the core processing system migration and the visible expense savings that come with it, combined with the continued repayment of higher-cost wholesale funding. A 25 million brokered deposit that matured in January 2026 has already been replaced with core deposits that cost less. The 65 million in Federal Home Loan Bank advances repaid in March 2026 removed another layer of expensive wholesale funding. The timing trigger is the second half of 2026, when the core processing savings should begin to appear in the income statement and the loan pipeline should convert into booked loans. The repurchase program of 1 million shares, or about 15 percent of the outstanding float, provides a floor under the stock price and a visible mechanism for returning capital to shareholders even in a flat earnings environment.
First United Corporation is a Maryland corporation chartered in 1985 that serves as the parent company of First United Bank and Trust, a Maryland trust company, and two Connecticut statutory business trusts that were formed to issue trust preferred securities. The Bank operates 23 branches and one customer service center across Allegany, Frederick, Garrett, and Washington counties in Maryland and Mineral, Berkeley, and Monongalia counties in West Virginia. The franchise is deliberately small. It is a community bank that serves local businesses, local families, and a small number of municipal accounts, and it does not compete with the large regional banks on national or even state-wide scale. The Bank elected financial holding company status in 2021, which gives it the ability to offer a broader range of financial services including trust, brokerage, and insurance products through its banking offices.
The geographic footprint is both a strength and a constraint. The four Maryland counties and three West Virginia counties represent a contiguous market in the Appalachian region, with the Bank's strongest position in Garrett County, Maryland, where it is a significant presence, and in Mineral County, West Virginia, where it holds a 38.6 percent deposit market share based on Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation data disclosed in the annual report. In Monongalia County, which contains the city of Morgantown and the West Virginia University campus, the Bank holds a 2.45 percent deposit share, well behind United Bank at 30.71 percent. The Morgantown presence is a deliberate expansion, with the company increasing its sales staffing in that market in 2025 and 2026. The strategic logic is to use the university anchor to build a deposit base and a commercial lending relationship that the larger banks in the market have not fully captured.
The competitive set is the defining feature of the business model. The Bank competes against United Bank, which is the largest independent community bank in West Virginia with a much larger asset base, against MVB Bank, a West Virginia based institution that is similarly positioned in the Morgantown market, against the regional branches of Truist and Huntington National Bank, and against the larger Maryland based institutions such as JPMorgan Chase and the Maryland-based community banks. The risk factors in the annual report explicitly acknowledge that many of these competitors are substantially larger, have greater access to capital markets, and offer a broader range of services. The Bank's competitive advantage is not scale. It is local knowledge, relationship lending, and the ability to serve the commercial real estate and acquisition and development segments of the local market with a speed and flexibility that the larger institutions cannot match.
The strategic context for 2026 is a management team that has just completed its first full year of leadership. The transition from Carissa Rodeheaver to Jason Rush as chief executive officer was effective January 1, 2026, and Rush had served as chief operating officer for nearly a decade before that. The management team has signaled a focus on efficiency, expense control, and margin management as the primary levers for value creation, rather than on balance sheet growth or geographic expansion. The repurchase program of 1 million shares authorized in January 2026 is a concrete expression of that philosophy. The company is choosing to return capital to shareholders rather than to deploy it into balance sheet growth, which is a deliberate choice that reflects the management team's view of the current rate environment and the competitive dynamics in the market.
The product set is the standard community bank menu, but the mix within it tells a specific story about where the franchise is positioned. Commercial real estate loans are the largest segment of the loan portfolio. They represented 40 percent of total loans at quarter-end. The commercial real estate book is split between non-owner-occupied properties at 354.1 million and owner-occupied properties at 222.9 million. The largest concentration within the non-owner-occupied book is in commercial rental properties at 192 million. The company discloses that it has no loans secured by office buildings in major metropolitan areas, no office buildings over four stories, and no retail properties rented to major big box tenants, which is a meaningful disclosure in a period when office property values have come under pressure. The multifamily segment at 48.9 million is the smallest of the three commercial real estate categories. That segment is concentrated in the local housing market, where the Bank's relationships are deepest. The storage unit and accommodations and food services segments, at 46.3 million and 78.7 million respectively, are the next largest concentrations within the non-owner-occupied book. The mix is weighted toward the commercial real estate and residential mortgage categories, which is where management sees the most durable earning power going forward.
Residential mortgages are the second largest segment at 547.1 million, or 35 percent of the book. The company originates residential mortgages both for its own portfolio and for sale to the secondary market, and it has been shifting toward holding more loans in the portfolio in the current rate environment. The first half of 2026 saw 33.9 million in residential mortgage originations, with most of that production booked in-house rather than sold to the secondary market. The shift from selling to holding is a deliberate choice that adds to the earning asset base and captures the full yield on the loan. It also adds to the interest rate risk on the balance sheet and requires the company to hold longer-duration assets against a liability base that is more floating. The pipeline of in-house portfolio loans stood at 20 million at quarter-end, which is a meaningful source of future loan growth that is already committed.
The commercial and industrial book at 242 million is the smallest of the three commercial segments. It has also been under the most pressure from payoffs. The first half of 2026 saw a 35 million decline, with the payoffs attributed to competitive pricing from larger institutions. The acquisition and development book at 102.2 million is the construction lending segment, and it grew 11.9 million in the first half on new project originations. The consumer book includes auto loans, student loans, and home equity lines of credit. It grew 8.3 million in the second quarter on the purchase of a consumer loan pool, which is a one-time balance sheet addition rather than organic growth. The total loan book of 1.57 billion at quarter-end is the sum of these five segments. The mix is weighted toward the commercial real estate and residential mortgage categories, which is where management sees the most durable earning power going forward.
The moat in this franchise is not a technology platform or a proprietary product. It is the deposit relationship. The company's core deposit franchise in Garrett County and Mineral County, where it holds the highest market shares, is a 40-year accumulated relationship that cannot be replicated by a new entrant. The 23 branch offices and 30 ATMs are physical presence in markets where the larger banks have consolidated or withdrawn. The trust and brokerage relationships add a fee income stream that is not sensitive to the interest rate cycle. They grew 300,000 in the second quarter of 2026 on improved market conditions. The core processing system that the company is in the process of renegotiating is the one area where the technology stack is a potential vulnerability, and the consulting fee paid in the second quarter of 2026 is the cost of addressing that vulnerability. The new processing arrangement is expected to reduce the cost of running the bank's core operations, and the savings should appear in the income statement over the course of 2026 and into 2027.
The income statement for the period shows a company that is earning more but not growing much. Net interest income on a fully taxable equivalent basis was 36.8 million, up from 32.9 million a year earlier. The margin expanded from 3.61 percent to 3.89 percent. The loan yield moved from 5.98 percent to 6.12 percent over the same period. The year-over-year increase in quarterly net interest income in the second quarter was 1.9 million. It reflects both the higher loan yield on new originations and the lower funding cost from the repayment of wholesale borrowings in early 2026. The funding cost benefit is a one-time effect that does not repeat, which is why the margin expansion is the more important of the two drivers for the second half of the year.
The second quarter reported income of 5.7 million, down from 6.0 million in the year-earlier quarter. The entire decline is attributable to the 1.7 million net-of-tax consulting expense for the core processing contract negotiation. Non-GAAP income was 7.3 million, up from 6.6 million in the first quarter. The provision for credit losses was 800,000 in the second quarter, down from 1.7 million in the year-earlier quarter, reflecting a stable credit environment and modest loan growth. Net charge-offs for the full year were 1.0 million, a low level of credit loss for a community bank with a commercial real estate heavy book. The credit cost is not a meaningful drag on earnings, and the provision level suggests management sees no need for a material buildup in the allowance going forward.
The balance sheet dynamics are worth attention. Total assets stood at 2.1 billion, roughly in line with the year-end 2025 position. The decrease was driven by a 46.4 million reduction in cash and interest-bearing deposits in other banks. Management used that cash to fund the 50.4 million increase in gross loans and to repay wholesale borrowings. Total deposits were essentially flat, with the 25 million brokered deposit repayment offset by a 27.6 million increase in savings and money market accounts. The composition shift is favorable. The company is replacing brokered deposits with core savings and money market accounts at a significantly lower rate. The 11.6 million decrease in non-interest-bearing checking and 13.3 million increase in interest-bearing checking reflect normal seasonal patterns in the commercial deposit base. The shift away from wholesale funding is the single most important balance sheet change of the period, and it should continue to support the net interest margin through the second half of the year.
The capital position is strong. The Bank was well capitalized at all measured ratios at quarter-end. Total capital to risk-weighted assets stood at 15.22 percent. The two remaining measured ratios both stood at 13.96 percent. All three ratios are well above the thresholds for being well capitalized under regulatory guidelines. The tangible common equity to tangible assets ratio is in the high teens, which is at the upper end of the range for the peer group. The company has a 1 million share repurchase program. It has bought back 70,600 shares, a visible mechanism for returning capital to shareholders. The company paid a quarterly dividend of 26 cents per share, a yield of 2.34 percent at the current share price. The dividend has been stable and is a modest but reliable source of shareholder return.
The primary execution risk is the core processing system migration. The 1.7 million consulting fee in the second quarter of 2026 is the cost of negotiating out of a legacy contract, and the migration itself carries execution risk that is not quantified in the filings. If the migration is executed poorly, the cost savings may not materialize on the timeline management has suggested, and the distraction of the project could consume management attention during a period when the margin recovery is the primary earnings driver. The company has not disclosed the expected savings from the new processing arrangement or the timeline for full implementation, which is a gap in the disclosure that the investment case needs to account for. The consulting fee is a one-time charge, but the migration is a multi-quarter project, and the savings should appear in the income statement only after the new system is fully operational.
The loan growth outlook is the second variable. The commercial real estate pipeline of 42 million in unfunded committed construction loans is a concrete source of future growth. The 66 million in commercial loan originations in the second quarter of 2026 is a healthy run rate. However, the commercial and industrial book has been under pressure from competitive payoffs, and the company has disclosed that the first half 2026 commercial and industrial payoffs were driven in part by competitive pricing. If the larger banks in the market, particularly United Bank and MVB Bank, continue to price aggressively for commercial and industrial loans, the Bank may not be able to replace the loans it loses, and the growth would have to come from commercial real estate and construction, which are more cyclical and more concentrated in the local real estate market.
The interest rate environment is the third variable and the one that is outside the company's control. The margin expansion of 28 basis points in the first half of 2026 is driven by a falling funding cost, which is a direct consequence of the Federal Reserve's rate cuts. If the Fed pauses or reverses its easing cycle, the funding cost should stabilize and the margin expansion should slow or stop. The company's own disclosure that higher cash levels at year-end 2025 allowed it to repay outstanding debt and brokered deposits at their maturities is a one-time benefit. The wholesale borrowings that were repaid in early 2026 cannot be repaid again. The forward margin trajectory depends on the rate path, and a higher-for-longer scenario would compress the margin recovery that is the primary earnings driver for 2026.
The management team's execution of the expense discipline is the fourth variable. The 1.7 million consulting fee is a one-time charge. The company also disclosed a 1.7 million increase in salaries and benefits in the first half of 2026, driven by new hires, merit increases, and incentive payouts. The Morgantown expansion, which added sales staffing in the West Virginia market, is a deliberate investment in a new market, and the expense should continue to grow as the Morgantown branch network matures. The offsetting factor is the reduction in occupancy expenses from the branch closures announced in 2024 and completed in 2025, which reduced the branch count and the associated lease and depreciation costs. The net effect on the efficiency ratio is uncertain, and the company has not provided a forward guidance on the efficiency ratio or on the expense trajectory for the second half of 2026.
The primary risk is the commercial real estate concentration. The commercial real estate book represents 40 percent of total loans, and the non-owner-occupied segment is exposed to the local commercial real estate market. The company has disclosed that it has no major metropolitan office exposure and no big box retail exposure, which are the two segments that have been most adversely affected by the post-pandemic shift in commercial real estate. However, the storage unit concentration and the accommodations and food services segment are sensitive to the local economic cycle. A downturn in the western Maryland or northeastern West Virginia economy, particularly one that affects the hospitality and retail sectors, would put pressure on the commercial real estate book and could lead to increased charge-offs. The 625.8 million commercial real estate book is the single largest source of credit risk on the balance sheet, and any deterioration in the local real estate market would be the most direct path to an earnings decline.
The second risk is the interest rate sensitivity of the balance sheet, combined with the competitive dynamics in the Morgantown market. The company has shifted toward holding more residential mortgages in the portfolio rather than selling them to the secondary market, and the first half of 2026 saw a 10.2 million increase in residential mortgages, most of which were booked in-house. If the Federal Reserve cuts rates further, the value of the residential mortgage portfolio should increase, but the yield on new originations should fall, which would compress the loan yield and the net interest margin. The Morgantown market is also a market where the larger banks have a significant presence, and the competitive pressure for both deposits and loans is higher than in the company's home markets in western Maryland. The 2.45 percent deposit share in Monongalia County is small relative to the market leaders, and the investment in sales staffing to grow that share carries the risk that the expense outpaces the deposit growth.
The third risk is the succession and management continuity. The transition from Carissa Rodeheaver to Jason Rush as chief executive officer is complete, but Rodeheaver remains as executive chairman, and the division of responsibilities between the two is a potential source of tension. The regulatory disclosure that described the transition outlined Rodeheaver's role as overseeing regulatory examinations, year-end reporting, the annual meeting, and investor relations, while Rush handles the day-to-day operations. This is a workable arrangement, but it is an atypical one, and the long-term sustainability of the two-person leadership structure is a question that the investment case needs to account for. The leadership structure is a factor that can affect management continuity, expense discipline, and the execution of the core processing migration, all of which are central to the investment case.
The fourth risk is the credit quality of the consumer loan pool that was purchased in the second quarter of 2026. The company disclosed an 8.3 million increase in consumer loans related to the purchase of a consumer loan pool, which is a one-time balance sheet addition. The credit quality of a purchased loan pool is not always as transparent as the credit quality of an organically originated loan, and the company has not disclosed the specific terms of the pool or the expected loss rate. If the pool underperforms, the charge-offs would be a direct hit to earnings, and the 8.3 million addition to the consumer book would be a source of credit losses rather than a source of earnings. The provision for credit losses of 800,000 in the second quarter is low, but it does not necessarily reflect the credit quality of the purchased pool, which may not have had time to show its true loss experience.
The valuation framework for a community bank of this size and profile is built on three anchors. The first is the price to tangible book value, which is the standard multiple for a franchise with a stable earnings base and a meaningful asset base. The second is the price to earnings, which reflects the current earnings power of the franchise. The third is the yield on the dividend plus the expected return from the repurchase program, which is the total shareholder return metric that is most relevant for a company that is returning capital rather than growing aggressively. At a share price of 44.45, the price to tangible book value is 1.41 times. The tangible book value per share is approximately 31.50, which puts the multiple at the upper end of the range for a community bank in the one to four billion asset bracket. The premium reflects the margin recovery in progress, the strong capital position, and the repurchase program. The price to earnings multiple at 11.5 times trailing earnings is in line with the peer group, and the forward multiple at 9.3 times reflects the expected earnings growth from the margin recovery and the expense savings from the core processing migration.
The dividend yield of 2.34 percent is modest. The repurchase program of 1 million shares, which represents about 15 percent of the outstanding float, adds a meaningful return component. If the company repurchases the full 1 million shares over the program period at the current price, the return from the repurchase alone would be about 2 percent. Combined with the dividend yield, that gives a total shareholder return of approximately 4.3 percent before any capital appreciation. The repurchase program is the most important capital return variable, and its execution is a direct signal of management's view of the stock price and the company's capital position.
The bear case, base case, and bull case quantifications are as follows. In the bear case, the margin compresses from the current level. That reduces net interest income by approximately 2.5 million annually. Earnings fall by approximately 1.8 million after tax, which at a trailing multiple puts the stock at 38.00. In the base case, earnings grow modestly to 4.10 per share, which at a trailing multiple puts the stock at 45.10. In the bull case, earnings reach 4.40 per share, which at a trailing multiple puts the stock at 52.80. The current price of 44.45 sits between the base case and the bear case, which reflects the market's view that the margin recovery is real but that the growth is modest and that the risk-reward is balanced.
The bear case assumes that the margin recovery stalls, the growth remains flat, and the multiple compresses to 1.20 times tangible book value, which would put the stock at approximately 38.00. The base case assumes the margin recovery continues modestly and the multiple holds at 1.35 times, which puts the stock at approximately 42.50. The bull case assumes the margin recovery extends, the loan growth picks up, and the multiple re-rates to 1.50 times, which puts the stock at approximately 47.00. The repurchase program is the single most important variable in the valuation framework, and its execution is a direct signal of management's view of the stock price. If the company continues to repurchase at prices below the current level, the per-share metrics should improve mechanically, and the tangible book value per share should rise even if the total equity is flat. The 70,600 shares already bought back are a 7 percent discount to the current price. That is a positive sign for the execution of the program. That is a positive sign for the execution of the program.
First United Corporation is a community bank in the middle of a margin recovery, and the investment case is that the recovery is real, the capital position is strong, and the capital return program provides a visible mechanism for value creation. The 28 basis point margin expansion in the first half of 2026 is the primary earnings driver, and it is driven by a falling funding cost that is a direct consequence of the Federal Reserve's rate cuts. The one-time 1.7 million consulting fee for the core processing contract negotiation temporarily depressed reported earnings, but the non-GAAP earnings of 7.3 million in the second quarter show the underlying run rate is higher than the reported figure.
The risks are real and they are specific. The commercial real estate concentration at 40 percent of the loan book is a cyclical risk. The interest rate sensitivity of the balance sheet is a binary risk. The competitive dynamics in the Morgantown market are an execution risk. The management transition, with two leaders sharing the top of the house, is a continuity risk. The consumer loan pool purchase is a credit quality risk that is not fully transparent in the disclosures. Each of these risks is manageable, and the capital position provides a cushion against any one of them materializing.
The valuation at 1.41 times tangible book value and 11.5 times trailing earnings is fair for a company in the middle of a margin recovery with a strong capital position and an active repurchase program. The stock is not cheap, but it is not expensive, and the risk-reward is balanced. The bull case, which requires the margin to continue expanding and the loan growth to pick up, is achievable but not certain. The bear case, which requires the margin to compress and the growth to stall, is also achievable but would require a change in the rate environment or a deterioration in the local economy. The base case, which assumes the margin holds and the earnings grow modestly, is the most likely outcome, and it supports the current price level.
The investment case comes down to three variables. The first is the margin, which is the primary earnings driver and the one that is most sensitive to the rate path. The second is the loan growth, which is modest in the current environment but has a concrete pipeline of 42 million in committed construction loans and a healthy origination run rate. The third is the capital return, which is visible and quantifiable in the repurchase program. If all three variables move in the right direction, the stock has room to appreciate toward the bull case of 52.80. If the margin stalls and the growth remains flat, the stock has room to decline toward the bear case of 38.00. The current price of 44.45 reflects a market that is pricing in the base case, and the investment decision is a judgment call on which way the three variables move over the next twelve months. The evidence in the filings points to a company that is well-managed, well-capitalized, and in the middle of a genuine margin recovery, but the growth is modest and the risks are specific enough that the margin of safety is not large.